1/4 B – First day

So here i am, my first day in Vienna, and what am i doing ?  Writing on my blog. I already unpacked, put my sheets on the bed, talked to my friends back home  ( wherever that might be nowadays) and now… i am a bit bored. Why ? Because it is raining. And because i have not been alone in a looooong time. Guess i will have to get back used to it.

The common room in my dorm is filled with people of different nationalities and different degrees of cleanliness when it comes to dishes and and trash. But they are all alike when it comes to noisiness. I am not complaining ( i know i am a bit older than the rest of the students here,  but i am not that old  lady that ruins the party:) ). I am just stating the fact that i have absolutely no interest and no wish to go join them. I sense that this is really gonna be a cultural exchange :)

Anyway, getting here was more or less without unexpected surprises. I took the train ( some 11 hours ) from Milan. I shared a compartment with a lady from Egypt that kept looking for conversation, and a girl from Vienna, that was coming back from her exchange in Torino. We talked a little bit, and then the lady wanted to go to bed so we had to turn off the lights. I got onto the top bed, talked on the phone for about an hour and then went to bed too… a bit scared that some valuable items might be subtracted, but in the end, i fell asleep and even had numerous dreams. Overall, the trip was ok, i might say.

When i got to the station, the nice italian attendant helped me get my trolley off the train and then i went looking for the buddy that was supposed to meet me. I walked around a bit, got loaded into an elevator full of chinese people, then got off it and went onto the train platform again in order to meet CH. We hit it off pretty well and had an informative discussion on the way to the dorm. We did have a bit of trouble finding it  –  we first went into another building and if not for the nice romanian full time WU student, we would have wasted a lot more time searching for GASOMETER SITE F. And yes, it really does look like it sounds  –  a half abandoned industrial zone with  no soul in sight. Well, it might be coz it’s sunday….

Anyway, we get in. At first sight, the kitchen looked disastrous – a lot of garbage and a lot of dishes. And , judging by the lots of pairs of male shoes, and of different sizes,  i concluded that in this apartment, it will be me and 2 other guys. One from Sierra Leone, who i have met and who has probably felt guilty about the mess and started vacuuming, and other one from turkey. Neither is exchange, so yes, yet again, i say it will be a quiet time for me in Vienna.

My room is nice. I took out my green bedsheets and it feels more like home already.

Iwill probably still go out today in order not to feel like a total vegetable. I will also be in the quest for  ANY vegetable or smth to eat, as it is Sunday, and apparently here, just like in Italy, consumerism is not a concern, and thus, everything is closed.

Vienna, like a ghost town.

 

Leave a Reply

