Vienna, Day 2

Today was the day that I was gonna get stuff done. And now, at almost the end of the day ( it is for me, as I am not moving an inch from bed) I can say that TOMORROW is the day that I will get stuff done ;) It was not entirely my fault – some offices are not open on Monday ( Italian style), but mostly yeah, I could not do much today because I had left my registration nr and password at home so yes, today was more for sightseeing. And yes, there is a lot to see in Vienna. At some point I even told myself, and in loud voice “ WHY did I choose Milan? “

Vienna is more my type of city, with its wide streets, beautiful buildings, polite people and great public transportation. There is only one problem. I do not understand a word that’s been said or written. And today, several persons have tried to talk to me. So I smile in a “I do not speak German but I want to be polite” way and wonder, how come I have never tried to learn German ? And then, just as quick, I find the answer “ Because it is close to impossible…. “

This morning I was woken up by a bang in the door and some other noise in the kitchen of the dorm/apartment. It was the cleaning service. And might I say, there were 2 of them, but even so, they were done before I could tie my hair into a ponytail. Now that is what I call Austrian Efficiency ( from now on, I will not use the terms Austrian and German as interrelated, as i have noticed that Austrians are not really Germans, they are a bit cooler : ) they cross do cross the street at the red light, something that I am told germans would never do :) After a quick shower I went on to Mc Donalds to get my breakfast. I was a bit surprised that : 1. There were no muffins and 2. That nobody spoke English , but I managed to say I want easy morning menu five even if I am not sure at the moment whether I said five or fiunf. Anyway, the coffee at Austrian McDonalds is better than at the Italian ones, but I was really surprised when the brioche , instead of gem or cream, had ham and cheese inside. I guess on the menu, what’s written underneath the picture does matter sometimes.

The Subway is really cool in Vienna, the seats are softer and the train goes up to the surface very often. It was a bit confusing today as I had to look at the map several times before I knew for sure that I remembered the station where I had to get off – the names are all so long and some are very similar, it is easy to miss a letter and thus get lost…. Also, when I am looking at the map, it takes me several seconds to read a name, and then I have to double check it before knowing that it is the right street. I really do hope that all this will get easier in time – in Italy I had to remember that I had to take a turn at via Dante, while here, i have to look for Schlachthaus. This street I actually know, visually, as I went for a walk yesterday, randomly, and I, very inspired, chose it. Apparently, it intersects a street with numerous stores and cafeterias. And it’s only a 25 min walk from the middle of nowhere Gasometer where I live.

Actually, in Gasometer City ( where I live) there is a mall and a Hollywood Multiplex. Both are a bit un-populated, as my Austrian Buddy has told me and as I have seen today, and I think it is because there aren’t that many stores in the mall. The multiplex looks fun though – I could smell the pop-corn from the stairs. They have lots of games and stuff, I will definetly check it out more thoroughly. Today I went in because there is a housing office in the back of the mall, but, when I tried to exit the building, I could no longer do so. Here in Vienna, I have seen that there are a lot of doors that allow entry, but no exit. Maybe it is a marketing strategy, as I had to go into the mall. And not only that, I had to check out all 3 buildings of the mall AND the multiplex, as I had a very hard time findng the exit. Everywhere I went, there was a dead-end : at one time, I ended up in the parking lot :)

I think that today I walked quite a few kilometers. At one point, i reached a Leaving Vienna road sign. I left WU at exactly 2 pm. I made a few stops, for example in the park of the Liechtenstein Museum, where I ate 1 muffin with Peach&Maracuja Youghurt, and then in the Karlsplats, while taking some pictures in the meantime. I also made a quite long stop at Belvederegarten, for which I had to go up a hill of, I would say, 35 degrees inclination. But it was worth the effort, the gardens are exquisite. I arrived at my destination – a Hofer store at 4:20. And from there, it is another 25 minutes till Gasometer. So it would be ….. 2,45 hrs.

Not that much, I would say. But my feet kinda say otherwise.

 

Leave a Reply

