Good morning, XXX

This morning I saw the sunrise from the company bus to work. Life as a grown-up.

As I had a call-meeting today at 9, I had to get up earlier and thus make it to an earlier connecting company bus to HQ, and thus the night before i had a good excuse to go to bed earlier. Too bad that the hour that I hoped I would have in the office, in order to work on my thesis project, turned into 20 min at the office – with a moccacino in one hand and the mouse clicking through company e-mail in another.

It is soooo cold in the morning – I hate winter. And there is no hot water in the bathroom sink –  in order to get it to flow there, I have to open the tap in the kitchen and let it run for a few minutes, and then maybe there will be warm water in the bathroom. But who has time for that, at 6:30 am?

The 44 bus that stops right in front of my door was late, and thus I froze my extremities off both at this stop and at the 53 stop, having missed the latter bus by a couple of seconds. Oh well. It came, eventually, filled with school children, loud and happy. They probably went to bed very early, and they have a holiday coming up. They have no thesis to write. And it is probably warm where they live. And they have warm water in the bathroom sink.

Of course, I also missed the company bus from 7:40. It was fine though – i could barely feel my toes anyway, so 10 more minutes in the cold did not make any difference.

There weren’t many people on the 7:55 bus. And the few that were on it, got off at YYY ( let’s call it that, for security),  after having their badges checked ( it is weird, they have to show their badge when they get on/off the bus – makes no sense to me, who in the right mind would voluntarily be on a 7:55  bus to out of Milan?).

I was the only one left in the bus.

YYY looks like a prison – true what my colleague told me on my first day :)  It has dark brown walls, with white stripes and regularly shaped green windows. The HQ complex is made of a couple of square buildings, and all that is missing is the wall around it and the long light-poles. It is still pretty demotivating to see a police guard check your badge every time you get on/off the buss. At XXX, there are doors through which you cannot get through without a badge – still a way of controlling when and who gets in and out – but it kinda makes you feel important, opening doors like that.

The driver was nice enough to take me to XXX , and tell me that it’s ok, there is no 7:40 bus anyway, coz no, people working at XXX and YYY are not THAT motivated…  So apparently this day did not start as bad as I initially thought :)

Coffee finished, not let’s get to work.

Leave a Reply

