Getting fit

I first realized i was in very bad shape when the elevator in the building i was at the time temporarily residing in went out of order. I walked up 8 flight of stairs, and by the time i got all the way up i was breathing really hard, and i was starting to feel some muscle pains. My room-mates  walked up the stairs too –  but their breathing was a bit more even than mine, so i decided that from that day on, i was going to walk up those stairs every evening. OK, in the end, they confessed that they stopped between 5 and 6 for a break, but the fact remained. I was becoming a fossil. 

And yes, i did keep my promise and i did walk up 8 flight of stairs for a few weeks. But that was all the exercise i got in the last month. Not good. Not good at all.

The idea of getting in shape and looking better in my 15+ dresses made me mentally start the 5 in 30 program : i want to lose 5kg in 30 days. Usually, when one sets a goal – no matter whether it is professional, personal or health based –  it is supposed to be realistic. Mine, for example, is 80% realistic and 20% really really really really cut back on the food and other day brightening elements such as sugar, chocolate, coffee and beer. 

Yesterday was intended to be day 1 of the program, but i procrastinated due to my TV Show addiction ( see the previous post). But  officially  my program did start yesterday, as i downloaded a phone app that tracks my weight, and which i am not updating today as by 11 a.m i had 2 coffees, 1 tea, 1 custom-deep-oil-fried-mostly-dough-and-a-little-taste-of-cheese-beleash and 1 chocolate muffin… and i am not going to weigh myself in the evening, who does that?

Yesterday evening, i was happy to see that i was only 1,3 kg over the eat only grilled chicken, veggies and fat free yogurts for 3 weeks weight, and that i was not at all over my beginning of the summer weight, even though i feel that way. Also, i inserted my measurements into the app –  height, neckline, waist line, thigh circumference and i got an  average body fat  result, but with a definite %. This way i can track my progress , or regress, depending on what my mom and dad will cook tomorrow…

So yes, today i looked up a workout video on youtube and just  did it.  I worked  at home before these unemployment days struck, so i decided i would work out  at home too. Of course, in the first few minutes, i hit my leg of the bed, i almost broke a lamp and i did not really stretch those arms out –  but there was also the advantage that nobody told me how dark purple i was. I know i become this strange color when i work out. And it is ok. I am not going to pass out, and no, i do not need water. I want some –  but i know that i am not supposed to drink excessively as it will endanger the subsequent exercisez. And yes, i was close to the shower.

And yes, no food after 6 p.m. Just water. Results –  weight, measurements and food –  tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

